Tipperary All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1945


John Maher (1908–1990) played hurling with his local club Thurles Sarsfields and with the Tipperary senior inter-county team from 1930 until 1945. He captained Tipperary to the All-Ireland title beating Kilkenny 5-6 to 3-6 in 1945 and is regarded as one of Tipperary’s all-time great defenders and is accorded iconic status in the county’s hurling history. The only captain to be chaired, shoulder-high from Semple Stadium to Liberty Square, which happened in the aftermath of Tipperary’s famous victory in the Munster Final of 1945. Back: Jack Mockler, Jer Cornally, John Maher (Captain), H. Goldsborough, Tom Wall, Rev. John Meagher, Flor Coffey, Jim Devitt, John Coffey, A.Brennan, Johnny Ryan, Jim Maher, Dan Breen T.D., Bill Leahy.
Front: J.J. Callanan, Phil Purcell, Tommy Bulter, Mike Murphy, P. “Sweeper” Ryan, Jimmy Maher, Tommy Doyle, M. Ryan, T. Purcell, E. Gleeson, Johnny Leahy, T Semple.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 1060 Categories: ,