Offaly All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1981


On September the 6th 1981 Offaly made the big break-through in Hurling by defeating Galway in the All-Ireland final. Ten years earlier their Footballer’s achieved the same feat against the same opposition. This game was tense and exciting and a late scoring blitz by Offaly gave them victory. As captain Padraig Horan raised the Liam McCarthy Cup, the faithful following led by Pat Delaney were singing “The Offaly Rover”. Back: Pat Kirwin, Christy King, Pat Flrury, Joachim Kelly, Liam Currams, Pat Delaney, Eugene Coughlan, Aodh Horan, Jim Troy, Tom Conneely, Mick Kennedy, Aidan Fogarty.
Middle: Brendan Keeshan, Tom Donoghue, Johnny Flaherty, Damien Martin, Pádraig Horan (Captain), Ger Coughlan, Pat Carroll, Mark Corrigan, Danny Owens, Martin Cashin, Brendan Bermingham,
Front: Seán O’Meara, Seán White.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 942 Categories: ,