2007 Connacht Football Final: Sligo v Galway


It has been a long time coming but Sligo fans will tell you it was worth the wait.

The full-time whistle in the 2007 Bank of Ireland Connacht Senior Football Championship was followed by a pitch invasion and an out-pouring of emotion from Sligo people which has not been seen for quite a while – for 32 years in fact. Since the introduction of the ‘qualifiers’ system the Yeats County teams have produced many memorable performances and played their part in some outstanding matches but had no silverware to show for it. But on Sunday 8th July 2007 that changed when the team lifted the Nestor Cup as Connacht Champions for the first time since 1975.

Sligo’s ‘never-say-die’ attitude came to the fore in this memorable Connacht final in what was regarded as one of the great ‘team’ performances of the championship and saw the long serving star Eamon O’Hara score one of the goals of the year. Sligo 1-10 Galway 0-12

Additional Information

SKU: GA 1597 Categories: ,