Waterford All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1959


The 1959 All-Ireland Senior Hurling final saw Waterford lining out in only their third ever championship decider. They last played in the All-Ireland final two years earlier in 1957 when they were defeated by Kilkenny. Waterford last won the title in 1948 when they defeated Dublin.
It was the 72nd All-Ireland Hurling final and it took place on the 6th of September. the match ended in a 1-17 to 5-5 draw. The replay took place four weeks later on the 4th of October. On this occasion Waterford defeated Kilkenny on a score line of 3-12 to 1-10.
The two matches are notable for a number of reasons. Firstly, this was Waterford’s second All-Ireland title ever. Secondly, this was the last time that an All-Ireland Hurling final went to a replay. Back: Fred O’Brien, John Barron, Ned Power, Jackie Condon, Martin Og Morrissey, Joe Harney, Austin Flynn, Phil Grimes, Mick Lacey, Joe Coady. Front: Paudie Casey, Tom Cheasty, Larry Guinan, Mick Flannelly, Frank Walsh (Captain), John Kiely, Tom Cunningham, Seamus Power, Mick O’Connor, Charlie Ware, Donal Whelan.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 1147 Categories: ,