Tipperary All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 2010


The build-up to the opening of the championship was dominated by Kilkenny and the ‘drive for five’. ‘The Cats’ were installed as the bookies’ favourites to retain the All-Ireland title for an unprecedented fifth successive occasion. Since 2006 the Kilkenny team had come to be regarded as arguably the greatest hurling team of all-time. In 2007 they surpassed their greatest rivals Cork at the top of the all-time roll of honour, while in 2009 the team equalled the seemingly unbeatable record of four All-Ireland titles in-a-row. Winning an elusive five-in-a-row would close the argument on hurling’s greatest team.
Tipperary were regarded as the primary challengers to Kilkenny’s dominance. Many believed that they had the beating of Kilkenny in the previous year’s All-Ireland final, however, ‘the Cats’ pulled away in the last ten minutes to seal the victory. With an extra year of experience many felt that Tipp may finally triumph for the first time in nine years.
Tipperary unseating the four-time defending champions by 4-17 to 1-18. Back: Seamus Callinan, Paul Kelly, Pat Kerwick, Jody Brennan, Shane MCGrath, John O’Brien, Gearoid Ryan, Declan Fanning, Conor O’Mahony, Padraic Maher, Brendan Cummins, Darren Gleeson, Darragh Egan, Timmy Hammersley, Lar Corbett, Paddy Fanning, ShaneMaher. Front: Brian O’Meara, Seamus Hennessy, Michael Heffernan, Hugh Maloney, James Woodlock, David Young, Paul Curran, Brendan Maher, Patrick Maher, Michael Cahill, Eoin Kelly, Paddy Stapleton, Noel McGrath, Conor O’Brien.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 1068 Categories: ,