Limerick All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1936


On September the 5th 1936, Limerick collected a fifth All-Ireland Senior Hurling Championship, with a 5-6 to 1-5 victory over reigning champions Kilkenny. The final was played in Croke Park and was watched by a attendance of 51,235, which was a record for the time and remained so until 1945. Limerick won their fourth successive Munster title in 1936 beating Tipperary 8-5 to 4-6 in the provincial final. Limerick were also appearing in the All-Ireland final for a fourth successive year. Back: W.P. Clifford, Martin Bulter, P. O’Reilly, Paddy Mackey, Mick Kennedy, Mick Ryan, Mick Condon, Paddy O’Carroll, Mick Mackey (Captain), Paddy McMahon, Paddy McSweeney, Charlie Holland, Sgt. Major Brown (Trainer).
Front: Dave Clohessy, Timmy Ryan, Paddy Scanlon, Tom McCarthy, Jim Roche, Garreth Howard, John Mackey, Mick Cross, Jackie Power, Paddy Clohessy, Jim McCarthy.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 760 Categories: ,