Laois National League Football Champions 1985/86


The men from the O’Moore County were the surprise team of the season coming from Division 3 to take the second highest honour in the game. Laois were the masters in the first thirty minutes leading at half-time by 2-4 to 1-1. Liam Irwin was majestic at midfield and scored four great points. John Costello was a hard working partner. Pat Brophy and Colm Browne were excellent in defence. Eamon Whelan and Willie Brennan took their goals with style. Michael Caulfield was the scorer of Monaghan’s goal.
Early in the second half Martin Conroy made a wonderful save from Michael Caulfield. In the 39th minute Monaghan reduced the deficit to 3 points when Ray McCarron scored from the penalty spot after Nudie Hughes was pulled down by Martin Conroy. The O’Moore County men’s defence responded magnificently to the challenge restricting the defending champions attack to just four points in the second half. Back: Colm Browne (Captain), Pat Brophy, Michael Dempsey, Martin Conroy, Martin Dempsey, John Costello, Michael Aherne, Eamon Whelan. Front: Liam Irwin, Willie Brennan, Tom Prendergast, Pat Dunne, Eddie Kelly, Gerry Browne, Christy McGuire. (Team Mascot) Glen Brophy.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 711 Categories: ,