Kilkenny All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 2009


In 2009, Kilkenny’s dominance was lessened and it was suggested that they were entering a decline. They saw off an emerging Dublin side in the Leinster final thanks to two goals from Martin Comerford. Nevertheless, they reached the final and secured a four-in-a-row with a five point win over old rivals, Tipperary who mounted a formidable challenge to their crown in an absorbing final which made up for the mis-matches of the two previous years when only token resistance was presented by Limerick and Waterford. Kilkenny became the first team since Cork in the 1940s to do the four in a row. Back: Richie O’Neill, Sean Cummins, Willie O’Dwyer, James Ryall, Noel Hickey, Canice Hickey, Brian Hogan, Michael Grace, Jackie Tyrell, Derek Lyng, Michael Fennelly, Henry Shefflin, PJ. Delaney, TJ. Reid, Michael Rice, Eddie Brennan, John Dalton, Damien Fogarty, Martin Comerford, John Tennyson.
Front: David Herity, Aidan Fogarty, Michael Kavanagh, Richie Hogan, PJ. Ryan, Richie Power, JJ. Delaney, Eoin Larkin, Tommy Walsh, Eoin McGrath, Eoin Reid, James Fitzpatrick.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 613 Categories: ,