Armagh All-Ireland Minor Champions 2009


Armagh won their first All-Ireland minor football title in 60 years with a late surge to defeat Mayo by 0-10 to 0-07 at Croke Park.
A decider that failed to live up to expectations ended with Mayo plunged into a depressingly familiar state of misery, their poor record in All-Ireland finals extended by yet another defeat.
Beaten finalists last season as well, the Connacht champions were in touch right up until the final five minutes, and but for two excellent saves by Armagh goalkeeper Stephen O’Reilly, they could well have claimed the Tom Markham Cup.
But in the end, the Ulster side emerged as deserved winners, thanks chiefly to the key roles played by playmaker Andrew Murnin and corner forward Robbie Tasker.
Armagh: S O’Reilly, K Downey, R Finnegan, K Nugent, D McKenna, N Rowland, J Morgan, P Carragher (0-01), J Donnelly, R Grugan (0-01, f), A Murnin (0-01), C King, R Tasker (0-03), E McVerry (0-03, 2f), G McParland.
Subs: T McAlinden (0-01) for McVerry (36) C McCafferty for Finnegan (53).

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 242 Categories: ,