Tyrone All-Ireland Senior Football Finalists 1986


In 1986, Tyrone reached their very first All-Ireland Final. However, they were the rank outsiders to beat Kerry, who were going for their third title in a row (and eighth in twelve years). At one stage in the second half, Tyrone had amassed a seven-point lead (a penalty that could have put them nine points ahead was struck over the bar by Kevin McCabe), but two of their leading players on the day, Eugene McKenna, and john Lynch had to be replaced due to injury, and the experience of Kerry shone through, going on to win by 2–15 to 1–10 (21 points to 13). An unprecedented four Tyrone players won All-Star Awards that year, Plunkett Donaghy, , John Lynch, Damien O’Hagan and Eugene McKenna won his second.
Back: Damian O’Hagan, Paudge Quinn, Paddy Ball, Ciaran McGarvey, Harry McClure, Plunkett Donaghy, Sean McNally.
Front: Mickey McClure, Mickey Mallon, Joe Mallon, Aidan Skelton, Eugene McKenna (Captain), John Lynch, Noel McGinn, Kevin McCabe. (Mascot K.Quinn).

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 1103 Categories: ,