Meath All-Ireland Senior Football Champions 1949


As the dust settled over Croke Park on September the 25th 1949, celebrations were taking place throughout the Royal County. Meath had defeated the “Legendary” Cavan team to win their first All-Ireland Senior Football title. A record attendance of 79,460 watched a trilling game which Meath dominated from the full back line right up to number fifteen. Thus the seeds were sown for the great footballing exploits of future years by the Royal County.
Back: Paddy O’Brien, Matty McDonnell, Charlie Smith, Larry McGuinness, Pat Dixon, Kevin Smyth, Des Taaffe, Thomas Farrelly, Bill Halpenny, Jim Meehan, Johnny Bashford. Front: Jim Kearney, Paddy Connell, Mick O’Brien, Frankie Byrne, Kevin McConnell, Seamus Heery, Brian Smyth (Captain), Christy Hand, John Meehan, Peter McDermott, Pat Carolan, Paddy Meegan.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2” Approx.)

SKU: GA 853 Categories: ,