Mayo All-Ireland u21 Football Champions 2006


Mayo captured the 2006 All-Ireland U21 football title with a superb 1-13 to 1-11 victory over favourites Cork at Cusack Park in Ennis.

For a long time it looked as if the Munster champions would win this match, but Mayo finally clicked into full gear shortly after the re-start and the Rebels were unable to stay with them. In a dramatic climax, Cork lost possession late on while pressing for an equaliser and with that went their last chance. Michael Conroy kicked an insurance point for the Connacht champions ten seconds from the end of normal time and the diminutive Mark Ronaldson knocked over the winners’ last point of the match in the first minute of stoppage time.
There was one last opportunity for Cork to salvage a draw but Goulding’s close range rasper blazed over the bar in the third minute of added time and the long whistle sounded with Pat Holmes’ side 1-13 to 1-11 in front. Champions of all Ireland.
Back: Simon McGuinness, Henry McLoughlin, Michael Divilly, David Prendergast, Aidan Kilcoyne, Joe Dillon, Ger Cafferkey, Kenneth O’Malley, Seamus O’Shea, Marcus Hannick, Tom Cunniffe, Aidan Campbell, John Healy, Alan Feeney, Richard Byrne, Alan Joyce.
Front: Sean Ryder, Sean McManamon, Chris Barrett, Barry Moran, Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins (Captain), Trevor Howley, Mark Ronaldson, Michael Conroy, John Conlon, Enda Varley, Trevor Lydon, Kevin Costello.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 832 Categories: ,