Limerick All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1940


In the All-Ireland Final of 1940, Limerick gave a brilliant display of hurling when they dethroned reigning champions Kilkenny. It was a closely fought contest which kept the 50,000 fans on the edge of their seats. In the closing stages of the game Limerick pulled away from their opponents. It was a historic day for the Munster County as their Minors defeated Antrim by the scoreline of 6-4 to 2-4 making it a double celebration. Limericks Captain “the great” Mick Mackey lifted the cup as jubilant Limerick fans cheered on their heroes. Back: Mick Hickey, Jim McCarthy, Tommy Cooke, Paddy Scanlon, Tony Herbert, Jim Roche, Paddy McMahon, John Mackey, Paddy Mackey, Timmy Ryan, Denis Hurley, Jackie Power.
Front: Paddy Clohessy, Mick Mackey (Captain), Mick Kennedy, Ned Chawke, Dick Stoles, Peter Cregan.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 747 Categories: ,