Leitrim Connacht Senior Football Champions 1994


This is a Painting by Brian O’Flaherty Ireland’s Foremost GAA artist, of the great Leitrim Team – the Connacht Senior Football Champions of 1994 Back: Seamus Quinn, Colin McGlynn, Noel Moran, Mickey Quinn, Martin McHugh, Liam Conlon, George Dugdale, George Flanagan. Front: Paul Kieran, Aldan Rooney, Joe Honeyman, Declan Darcy (Captain), Pat Donoghue, Padraig Kenny, Frank Reynolds. In the 1994 championship, Leitrim defeated Roscommon in the first round. The team then went on to draw with Galway in Carrick-on-Shannon. In the replay held in Tuam, Leitrim were the victors by one point.
The Connacht Final was held in Hyde Park, Roscommon on the 24th of July between Leitrim and reigning champions, Mayo. In an excitingly dramatic game, Leitrim emerged as well-deserved Connacht Champions with a final score of Leitrim 0-12 to Mayo 2-04.
This was a very memorable occasion for everyone associated with the county and it bridged the gap of sixty-seven years when Leitrim secured its first provincial title since 1927.
There was a mass exodus of young and old from the county to Croke Park for the All-Ireland semi-final in August 1994. Despite the excitement and enthusiasm of the Leitrim supporters in green and gold, the dream of Leitrim progressing to the All-Ireland final was dashed by a Dublin win. Published in a single limited edition of 500 worldwide, each print is individually numbered and signed by Brian O’Flaherty, and comes with a Certificate of Authenticity signed by the artist.

Additional Information

Image Size: 500mm x 380mm Print Size: 21” x 18” approx. Limited Edition: 500

SKU: GA 732 Categories: ,