Kerry All-Ireland Senior Football Champions 2004


15 minutes in and Kerry were 0-08 and Mayo were 1-01. Two fine points by McDonald’s were cancelled out by O’Sullivan and Cooper.
Then Cooper fielded brilliantly before embarking on a run through the Mayo defence, jinking this way and that, sending backs the wrong with way a deft bounce, before slipping the ball under Mayo ‘keeper Peter Burke.
A pair of points from the ruthless Ó Cinnéide rounded off the half, with Kerry leading 1-12 to 1-04.
The slaughter continued after the break. Gooch, Kirby, Gooch again, Ó Cinnéide’s eighth point of the match and a point from Paul Galvin were matched for Mayo by a Conor Mortimer free.
Mayo fans were flooding out of the ground, so there was little reaction to points for McDonald, Dillon and Andy Moran.
Not even a goal from Mayo substitute Michael Conroy could rouse the Connachtmen, or the dogged supporters that remained.
Mike Frank Russell finished the game with a score that, by now, no one was even watching. Kerry lifted Sam with a performance with all the passion and intensity of a training session. The final score, for what it is worth, was Kerry 1-20, Mayo 2-09.
Back: Tommy Griffin, Micheál Quirke, John Cronin, Bryan Sheehan, Ronan O’Connor, John Crowley, Marc Ó Sé, Tom O’Sullivan, Liam Hasset, Mike McCarthy, Paddy Kelly, John Sheehan, Declan Quill, William Kirby, Ronan Ó Flaharty.
Front: Brendan Guiney, Seán O’Sullivan, Noel Kennelly, Eamon Fitzmaurice, Paul Galvin, Declan O’Sullivan, Dara Ó Cinnéide, Tomás Ó Sé, Colm Cooper, Aidan O’Mahony, Eoin Brosnan, Kieran Cremin, Mike Frank Russell.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 1/2”)

SKU: GA 669 Categories: ,