Dublin All-Ireland Senior Football Champions 2011


Goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton converted a winning free in stoppage time to give Dublin their first All-Ireland Senior Football Championship title since 1995.
Dublin came from behind to edge out Kerry by 1-12 to 1-11 in a tense and exciting encounter at Croke Park.
Colm Cooper slotted home a superb 19th-minute goal, but two points each from the Brogan brothers helped Dublin to a 0-06 to 1-02 interval lead.
Kerry were four points ahead when substitute Kevin McManaman scored a 64th-minute goal for Dublin.
And in a gripping finish, Cluxton kept his cool to make history as the first goalkeeper to score an All-Ireland final winner.
The Jacks are back, roared the banner on Hill 16, and Pat Gilroy’s side finally emerged from the shadows to revisit the Promised Land.
They did it in a manner befitting the steel and courage of which Gilroy has constructed his team over the past three years of toil, turbulence, torment and ultimate triumph.
This was one of the most gripping Sam Maguire Cup deciders of the modern era, a game that appeared to be heading inevitably in the direction of yet another Kerry success.
But the Dubs dug deep, and staged a resounding finish to rescue a dearly held cause and score a remarkable win, and a 23rd title, in front of their delirious supporters in a heaving Croke Park. Back: Paul Conlon, Eoghan O’Gara, Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Casey, James McCarthy, Ross McConnell, Michael Darragh Macauley, Barry Cahill, Michael Fitzsimons, Bernard Brogan, Cian O’Sullivan, Eamonn Fennell, Denis Bastick, Declan Lally, Paul Brogan, Michael McCarthy, Philip McMahon. Front: Craig Dias, Ger Brennan, Rory O’Carroll, Kevin Nolan, Bryan Cullen, Stephen Cluxton, Paul Flynn, Alan Brogan, David Henry, Tomás Quinn, Dean Kelly, Kevin McManamon, Sean Murray, Ross O’Carroll, Michael Savage.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 480 Categories: ,