Cork All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 2005


Cork completed their first season under the management of John Allen by winning their second All-Ireland title in as many years. It was the first time that the county achieved back-to-back titles since 1977-1978. Cork marched to the final with five successive victories, including the regaining of their Munster provincial title. Victories over Tipperary, Clare and twice against Waterford, all Munster teams coincidentally, ensured “the Rebels” a place in their third successive All-Ireland Final against Galway. A 1-21 to 1-15 victory over “the Tribesmen” landed Cork their second consecutive All-Ireland title. Key players in this triumph included goalkeeper Dónal Óg Cusack, backs Diarmuid O’Sullivan and John Gardiner, captain Seán Óg Ó hAilpein, as well as Ben and Jerry O’Connor, Brian Corcoran and Joe Deane Back: Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Ronan Curran, John Browne, Martin Coleman, Jonathan O’Callaghan, Brian Corcoran, John Gardiner, Pat Mulcahy, Tom Kenny, Donal Óg Cusack, Seán Óg Ó hAilpein, Peter Kelly, Wayne Sherlock, Ronan McGregor, Paul Morrissey, Graham Callinan. Front: Shane O’Neill, Kevin Hartnett, Neil Ronan, Niall McCarthy, Ben O’Connor, Brian Murphy, Joe Deane, Kieran Murphy, Timmy McCarthy, Jerry O’Connor, Clan O’Connor, Ciarán McCann, Kieran Murphy.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 339 Categories: ,