Cork All-Ireland Senior Hurling Champions 1954


Sunday September 5th. was the date of the 1954 All-Ireland senior hurling final between Cork and Wexford. Cork were appearing in their third consecutive championship decider, having beaten Dublin and Galway to take the previous two titles. Wexford last appeared in the championship decider in 1951 when they lost out to Tipperary who captured their own three-in-a-row. They last won the All-Ireland title in 1910 when they defeated Limerick to take their first championship. Cork and Wexford last met each other in the championship more than half a century earlier in the All-Ireland final of 1901 with victory going to Cork. An interesting statistic at the time was the fact that Wexford had never beaten Cork in the championship.
A record 84,856 spectators turned out in Croke Park to see one of the most anticipated All-Ireland hurling finals ever played. The charismatic Wexford men, one of the most talked about teams of the decade, had reached their second All-Ireland final in three years and looked well capable of winning this one. Cork, on the other hand, looked forward to creating their own piece of history. A win would give them a third All-Ireland title in-a-row while on a personal level a win would give captain Christy Ring a record-breaking eighth All-Ireland medal. The record crowd of spectators also looked forward to a scoring shoot-out between Christy Ring and Wexford’s Nicky Rackard. Back: Jack Barrett (Selector), A. Scannell (Chairman), Dave Creedon, Gerry O’Riordan, John Lyons, Matt Fuohy, Gerald Murphy, P. Collins (Selector), Jim Barry (Trainer). Front: Éamonn Goulding, Willie John Daly, Tony O’Shaughnessy, Johnnie Clifford, Josie Hartnett, Christy Ring (Captain), Paddy Barry, Vincent Twomey, Willie Moore.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 352 Categories: ,