Cavan All-Ireland Senior Football Champions 1933


Cavan All-Ireland Senior Football Champions 1933 Back: P.O’Reilly (Treasurer), J. Gilheaney (President), PJ. O’Keeffe (Sec. GAA), JJ. Clarke (Sec. Cavan). Middle: Vincent McGovern, Willie Connolly, Willie Young, Terry Coyle, M. Denneny, Tom O’Reilly, Hughie O’Reilly, Jack Smallhorn. Front: Louis Blessing, Donal Morgan, Packie Phair, Jim Smith (Captain), Patsy Lynch, Patsy Devlin. MJ. McGee. Sam Maguire goes north for the first time. Cavan’s five All Ireland titles were won in a 19-year period: they foiled Kerry’s five-in-a-row bid with a last minute goal from Vincent McGovern at Breffni Park in 1933, beat Galway and Kildare in the 1933 and 1935 finals, won the famous 1947 final in the Polo Grounds in New York City, followed it up with an extraordinary win over Mayo in 1948 on the day of the “big wind” (Cavan led 3-2 to nil at half-time and won by 4-5 to 4-4) and beat Meath in a replay in 1952 through a free-taking display by Mick Higgins.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 275 Categories: ,