Antrim All-Ireland Senior Hurling Finalists 1989


Antrim are the only Ulster county to appear in an All-Ireland hurling final, the first of which was in 1943 losing to Cork and the second was in 1989 losing to Tipperary. In 1943 Antrim defeated both Galway (by 7-0 to 6-2) and Kilkenny (by 3-3 to 1-6) in the cramped surroundings of the old Corrigan Park. Two years previously, Antrim had been graded Junior a year before, and had been beaten by Down in the Ulster final. They were only competing in the Senior Championship because the Junior grade was abolished. Antrim hurlers featured strongly in Ulster Railway cup final appearances in 1945, 1993 and 1995. In hurling, the progression that began with Loughgiel’s success at club hurling level in 1983 (with players like 15-stone goalkeeper Niall Patterson) culminated in an All Ireland final appearance in 1989. Antrim’s first All-Star, Ciaran Barr, helped Belfast club Rossa to reach the 1989 club hurling final and after a great show against Buffer’s Alley, Barr starred in a 4-15 to 1-15 All Ireland semi-final win over Offaly. Antrim losed by just two points against Kilkenny in the 1991 All Ireland semi-final. Back: Brian Donnelly, Dessie Donnelly, Dominic McKinley, Niall Patterson, Terence Donnelly, Paul McKillen, Dominic McMullan, James McNaughton. Front: Terence McNaughton, Olcan McFetridge, Ciarán Barr, Donal Armstrong, Gary O’Kane, Leonard McKeegan, Aidan McCarry.

Additional Information

Size: 450mm x 320mm  (17 3/4” x 12 5/8”)

SKU: GA 202 Categories: ,